But for The Ocean and Redux…

My blog is getting an incredible number of hits this week and weekend, numbers through the roof but alas, it is not because of my words of wisdom, it is because of the Super Moon… and a website called EarthSky. Imagine clicking EOSr thinking you are going to a scientific website. Ha ha. Ha Ha.

supermoon-8-10-2014-damian-o-sullivan-ireland
Photo of 2014 Super Moon by Damian O’Sullivan, Ireland

From the EarthSky website:

Want the exact time of full moon for North American time zones? Okay, so the moon will reach the crest of its full phase on November 14 at 13:52 UTC. That translates to 9:52 a.m. AST, 8:52 a.m. EST, 7:52 a.m. CST, 6:52 a.m. MST, 5:52 a.m. PST.

The moon will reach perigee – the moon’s closest point to Earth for this month – within an one and one-half hours of that time.

The moon won’t come this close to Earth again until November 25, 2034.

Their website (and not mine) is a great link to understanding the terms apogee and perigee. Worth a good look.

And a reminder to all you photography geniuses – SoundBeacher, EarthImage, Libertarian Advocate (and any others!) -takes lots of pics and I’ll post them here.

Last night’s moon was bright enough for me, so bright the sky was like it had bright Xenon headlights on. I tossed and turned more than usual while Dawg snored his way through it all – even me getting up and looking out, staring up at that gorgeous gigantic orb. It is made of Swiss Cheese – a fact you likely won’t read on EarthSky! 🙂

Also, the other big hit to my blog is because of our posts on ChristChurch, New Zealand. News this morning of another large magnitude earthquake, the epicenter of which is only 57 miles from Christ Church, lots of people must be Googling Christ Church and my blog posts come up. Tsunami warnings too. Can’t be good. Sigh.

Happy Sunday otherwise. Football. Crossword puzzle (trying to finish it) and maybe a nap to recover from last night’s long outage.

4 thoughts on “But for The Ocean and Redux…

  1. Early morning moon (4am’ish) seemed to have bolts of lights radiating, like the glare from headlights. I’m wondering if it was because I was looking at it through window glass?
    It’s possible I may get to see super moon again, God willing.

Comment 100% Anonymously. No email address required.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s